Jet To No Where

Help me find out if I am on a Jet To No where…or just on stand by.

Why yes, I have accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior……

I was raised in a small, white, Italian, catholic, close-minded town (but I’ll save that for another blog). I went through 10 years of Catholic school along with church/mass (whatever you want to call it) and all sacraments. The only sacrament I did not take was marriage.

I was married at the Orange County Florida Court House by a Notary Public…no witnesses. I never saw the need for a huge wedding with all the bullshit that accompanies it. I really never thought I would get married, but life has it’s ways of throwing curve balls and I just caught this one in 1998.

we didn’t tell anyone we got married until after we did it. My father was probably relieved, as I have two sisters and there was no way he was getting out of paying for their weddings. Actually, I don’t think he would have paid a penny for mine….even after almost 11 years, if we wanted to get married in the church…daddy won’t be offering any mullah anytime soon. But, I always wondered why people felt the need to marry someone in such a grandiose fashion. Peer Pressure? Declaration to the world that they will be together forever (even though 50% of marriages end in divorce)? Princess for a day? I know the groom could probably care less, but the bride wants here day, I suppose.  

Getting married is one day out of the rest of your entire life. Being married is a whole other subject. Now, out of everyone at that one day ceremony, how many of them will be around when your husband decides to keep leaving his dirty underwear in the hallway? Which bridemaid is coming over to mop your floors? Marriage is not to be taken lightly, so why is the ceremony so light hearted? I know it’s the beginning of a wonderful life together and the sublime idea of two people loving each other forever and ever seems so magical….but let’s be serious….how magical is it when your first major fight starts rumors of  unhappiness?

Don’t misunderstand me, I do believe in marriage. If I didn’t, I wouldn’t be married, but I am a realist. If anything should happen in my marriage that causes it to end, I would never get married again. Marriage is one of the most difficult tasks I have undertaken in my entire life….and I’m dying of Heart Failure.

Once is enough for me.

So, I guess what I am wondering this: Why all the big dress and hude party for the most daunting and difficult endevour of your lifetime?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

